Social Security and Medicaid COVID-19 Benefits End April 15: States, Territories Impact!

If the Biden administration does not renew the public health emergency (PHE) proclamation put in place during the epidemic, supplementary SNAP aid will expire on April 15.

Several states and territories have been given waivers from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, allowing for the distribution of emergency supplementary income to SNAP users in light of the pandemic’s economic impact and rising prices.

If a state declared an emergency or catastrophe, additional funds would be available. As a result, the vast majority of states and territories have begun providing EBT cardholders with additional SNAP benefits.

Xavier Becerra, the Secretary of Health and Human Services, renewed the emergency declaration on January 16th, 2022, with a new expiration date of April 15th, 2022 As a result, millions of Americans might lose their Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits if the measure is not extended again.

Social Security and Medicaid COVID-19 Benefits End April 15: States, Territories Impact

Depending on their state’s laws and maximums, the additional money can add up to an additional $100 per month, allowing poor families to achieve the maximum monthly benefit level. Families that are still living below the poverty line may not be able to receive the full monthly benefit if this additional income is not provided.

State and territory-specific SNAP funds can only be used to buy fresh fruit, food, and groceries from pre-approved vendors and retailers in each state. As a result, the additional funds will go directly toward providing food for those in need, rather than being placed in a discretionary account that each recipient can use as they see fit.

Restrictions may include not being able to purchase alcohol, hot food, or food that will be consumed on the premises. Pet food, soap, and even paper towels are frequently prohibited from being purchased with food stamps.

More Topics:

The following states (and territories) may be impacted if the additional support is not renewed:

  • Alabama.
  • Alaska.
  • Arizona.
  • California.
  • Colorado.
  • Connecticut.
  • Delaware.
  • District of Columbia.
  • Georgia.
  • Guam.
  • Hawaii.
  • Illinois.
  • Indiana.
  • Iowa.
  • Kansas.
  • Kentucky.
  • Louisiana.
  • Maine.
  • Maryland.
  • Massachusetts.
  • Michigan.
  • Minnesota.
  • New Jersey.
  • New Hampshire.
  • New Mexico.
  • New York.
  • North Carolina.
  • Ohio.
  • Oklahoma.
  • Oregon.
  • Pennsylvania.
  • Rhode Island.
  • South Carolina.
  • Texas.
  • Virginia.
  • Washington.
  • West Virginia.
  • Wisconsin.
  • Wyoming.

Medicaid has been able to provide more services (such as telemedicine sessions) and avoid active state Medicaid enrollment cancellations during the pandemic because of the classification of an ongoing public health emergency. If the PHE designation is revoked, these advantages may no longer be safeguarded.